top of page

Pioneer School

As a Pioneer School, we work alongside Welsh Government to help write and trial the new Welsh Curriculum framework for Expressive Arts, as well as support the Chepstow and Caldicot clusters to ensure all settings are aware of the changes coming into Welsh education over the next few years.  As part of the EAS, we also share the progress we are making with the whole consortia, running workshops with Headteachers and Senior Leadership Teams.

An integral part of the process is making sure that we are pioneering ourselves! We explore and experiment with our approach to learning and ensure that we are willing to take risks and learn from them.  There have been many changes over the last two years as can be seen in our archived class blogs.  We continually evaluate and evolve our practice to ensure our learners in our setting receive the best possible start to their learning journeys. 


The new framework has six Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLEs): 

  • Expressive Arts

  • Health and Wellbeing

  • Humanities

  • Language, Literacy and Communication

  • Mathematics and Numeracy

  • Science and Technology

Each of these AoLEs are developing achievement outcomes and knowledge, skills and experiences which are pertinent to them.  We are also looking at the numeracy, literacy and digital skills that can be developed through the AoLEs.

National Mission.JPG
bottom of page